Home » Uncategorized » An absent camera and the yellow wine festival

An absent camera and the yellow wine festival

Snowy Salins Les Bains

Snowy Salins Les Bains

Documenting things, food, drink, events, non-events has been very difficult lately. Preferring to live in the moment, rather than step back and view events as a blogger has been an eye opener.I have been very busy making and selling walnut oil, of course, but have also written a cookbook full of recipes using walnuts, hazelnuts and their cold-pressed oils; have been working on the blog for our local veg-basket group; oh and we have developed a walnut jam with a local artisan jam maker.

confiture

Our new jam, created in partership with a local jam maker.It’s more like a spread, but fearing association with a certain quality of nutty spreads, we thought jam was a more elegant name! I also discovered I can take pictures with my laptop, which I won’t be doing very often. Although, somehow like the grainy effect…

I have been somewhat forced to live without a lens, as a blogger’s worst nightmare has occurred…my camera is broken, beyond repair. Yes, I know. What to do?  Anyway, to cut a long story short, after several hours of sitting with my head in my hands, lamenting the sparkly snowy, sunny scenes outside, fearing they will be lost forever as not documented, I started to question my reliance on my camera and insistance on describing things. My absent camera has actually forced me to start drawing food! Illustrated recipes to follow soon!

st jacques - Copie

Scallops with a walnut oil and lemon dressing

st jacques

Coquilles Saint-Jacques

 

 

 

 

 

Below are my last photos, before being struck by camera deficiency, and thoughts on the wonderful yellow wine festival.

 

 

La Percée du Vin Jaune“, literally the “piercing” of the barrel containing yellow wine, is an annual event in the Jura.The wine is aged for 6 years and 3 months, so on the first weekend in February, breaking open the barrel is celebrated in a different wine producing village each year. This year it was in Montigny Les Arsures, near Arbois.

DSCF1018

The village square in Montigny

This enigmatic wine is sold in 62cl bottles, the amount remaining from a litre of wine after the evaporation process. The alcohol which  evaporates is poetically called “La Part des anges” (the angels’ share). Made from the savagnin grape variety, for me, as with all great wines, you drink vin jaune with your eyes and your nose before you taste it! It has a glossy, golden yellow colour and fills your nostrils with walnut, dried fruit and spicy saffron aromas. This is particularly relevant for us, as walnut and walnut oil producers, it makes for a perfect apéritif: a handful of walnut kernels and a glass of “vin jaune”. It was a cold, snowy day, but our cheeks were soon glowing as we wandered from cellar to cellar, walnuts and cubes of comté in our hands and a special tasting glass in a little pouch around our necks!

DSCF1014

Devastated that one of my last photos was a terrible selfie…

Some of my favourite Jura wines:

The wine festival is not just about yellow wine. It allows you to taste the various wines made from different grape varieties.

“Trousseau” (a red grape variety unique to the Jura) .Domaine Daniel Dugois‘ trousseau is excellent with subtly intense red-fruit flavours.

“Pinot Noir”, Château de Quintigny, blackberry and chocolate flavours, with a hint of woodiness from the oak barrels.

“Ploussard”, again a grape variety only found in the Jura. Not to be mistaken as a rosé, this grape variety is made into wine using the same techniques as a red, but the finished product has a natural, pale red colour. A light fruity wine, with hints of raspberry contrasted with peppery, earthy undertones. The organic Domaine Hugues Béguet is one of my favourites.

“Vin jaune”, Domaine de La Pinte.Next time I go to the wine festival, I shall take a note book. So many wines to savour, 70 winemakers were there this year. This one really struck me, however, due to its rich walnut flavours. This is an organic vineyard in Arbois, a picturesque winemaking town.

This list is by no means exhaustive. There are so many fantastic wine producers here, different “terroirs” from village to village and of course different vintages, of which my list does not take account. The best thing to do is to come and visit the Jura and meander around “La Route des Vins“! If you are unable to do so you can find details of stockists on this blog about Jura wine:

http://jurawine.co.uk/uk-stockists/

Apologies for my wine vocabulary.I probably watched too much Gilly Goolden during the 80s(wine critic on BBC’s Good Food program). That was a great programme by the way. Loved her perm and sparkly jumpers. I am definitely not a wine professional, but have got to know quite a few bottles since i’ve been here!

Incidentally the Jura is the department with the largest proportion of organic vineyards in France(15%). I shall definitely be going to the organic wine show next month, Le Nez dans Le Vert .

Hopefully I will have a camera by then!

Leave a Reply

